April 2007

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
(Click Message to Learn More)


Frank Capuano, President, Strata Resource Inc.EMAIL INTERVIEW Frank Capuano & Ken Sinclair

Frank Capuano, Strata Resource Inc

Frank is the manager of the 2007 Buildy Awards Program and editor of The Show Daily, the ConnectivityWeek daily event paper, for Clasma Events.

Buildy is Back in 2007

The Industry Award in a Time of Innovation and Convergence

New Products
Past Issues

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Sinclair:  The Buildy Award program is back at ConnectivityWeek this year, what can we expect?

Capuano: This is the fourth year for the Buildy Awards and as we’ve seen in previous years, you can expect this award program to bring out the best the industry has to offer in whole building integration and who best supports the vision of networked building systems. It is a unique opportunity to promote your peers, your company, or even yourself, as a leader in whole building integration and interoperability.

Sinclair:  Could you give us a refresher on all of the Buildy award categories?

Capuano: Yes. The Buildy awards celebrate organizations and individuals who best support the vision of networked building systems. This focuses the award on the integration process, which has many facets. The Buildy award recognizes the many facets of the integration process by establishing five award categories:

  • Vision – This award will be presented to the industry professional who best demonstrates a vision of whole building integration and interoperability through advocacy, promotion, educational and training endeavors.

  • Initiative – This award honors a company or organization who has shown or launched a key initiative to enable or otherwise forward the subject of integrated and intelligent buildings.

  • Best Integration Project – Awarded to a systems integrator, the recipient of this award demonstrates the ability to efficiently integrate a wide array of building systems together and successfully enable operation over a corporate IT infrastructure.

  • Best New Product – This award honors a manufacturer whose new product or service overcame a significant challenge, enhanced, or simplified the integration process.

  • Best Intelligent Building – This award will be presented to the building owner or consultant with the most progressive building technology supporting the vision of whole building integration. The building must be currently occupied.

For additional information for category visit

Sinclair:  Have the voting processes changed from last year?

Capuano: No. Once all nomination are submitted, four finalists will be selected in each category and the winning nomination in each category is elected by ConnectivityWeek attendees on May 23rd during the Building Systems Expo. In essence, the winners are selected by their peers at the event that brings together all of the disparate facets of building system integration. It’s been an exciting process in the past and we are looking forward to another exciting day of voting at ConnectivityWeek this year.

Sinclair:  When will the winners be announced?

Capuano: The Buildy Award winners will be announced during the Award Gala on the evening of May 24th at ConnectivityWeek in Chicago. Nominees must be present or have a representative present to win.

Sinclair:  When is the deadline for submitting nominations?

Capuano: The deadline is April 15th, 2007, which is only a few weeks away. Submissions need to be made soon in order to qualify.

[an error occurred while processing this directive] Sinclair:  What is the submission process?  Who is eligible to participate?

Capuano: The submission process is very simple and participation is open to industry professionals, systems integrators, technology manufacturers, building owners, and consulting engineers. All nominations must be submitted electronically using the Buildy Awards Form, which is available for download at
http://www.builconn.com/2007/na/content/buildy.asp. The form is a MS Word document that should be completed electronically and emailed to buildy@clasma.com.

Sinclair:  Who won the Buildy last year?

Capuano: Last year we had a lot of worthy nominations in each category. In the end, over 500 attendees were able to select a definitive winner in each category. The 2006 winners were:

For more details on last year’s award recipients and photos go to

Sinclair:  Sounds like last year’s winners are a tough crowd to beat. Any predictions for this year?

Capuano: I think this year’s nominations will raise the bar of excellence another notch or two. There is so much happening in the industry today with technology and standards that there will be no shortage of worthy Buildy nominees. The Buildy Award will continue to recognize and celebrate the innovation and convergence we witness everyday in the building systems industry.


[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[Click Banner To Learn More]

[Home Page]  [The Automator]  [About]  [Subscribe ]  [Contact Us]


Want Ads

Our Sponsors